Coast Guard Medal of Honor recipient remembered

SEATTLE – The only Coast Guard recipient of the Medal of Honor, Petty Officer 1st Class Douglas Munro was honored Friday, in observance of the first Douglas Munro Memorial Day during a ceremony held at the Medal of Honor memorial in Olympia, Wash.

Station St. Clair Shores member receives Cmdr. Ray Evans Outstanding Coxswain Trophy

ST. CLAIR SHORES, Mich. – A U.S. Coast Guard Station St. Clair Shores-based Coast Guard petty officer is scheduled to receive the Cmdr. Ray Evans Outstanding Coxswain Trophy during a ceremony at the station here, Wednesday, at 9 a.m.

Coast Guard to honor hero with mast dedication

CAPE MAY, N.J. – Coast Guard Training Center Cape May will honor Signalman First Class Douglas Munro and dedicate the Coast Guard Cutter Spencers mast in a ceremony here on the training centers parade field Sept. 27, 2008 at 10 a.m. Munro, the only Coast Guard Medal of Honor recipient, served aboard the Spencer. He was killed in action while protecting U.S. Marines at Guadalcanal during World...