Navy, Coast Guard rescue 3 fishermen 63 miles east of Brunswick

USS Hue City file photo by Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Mark Andrew Hays

USS Hue City file photo by Navy Petty Officer 2nd Class Mark Andrew Hays

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. — The Navy, along with assistance from the Coast Guard rescued three fishermen Tuesday 63 miles southeast of Brunswick, Georgia.

Watchstanders at Coast Guard 7th District received a 406 megahertz emergency position indicating radio beacon alert from the 42-foot fishing vessel Barbara Lynn at approximately 3:30 a.m. Watchstanders released an enhanced group calling (EGC) message and launched a Coast Guard Air Station Savannah MH-65 Dolphin helicopter crew and diverted the Coast Guard Cutter Tahoma crew to the vessel’s last known position.

The crew of the USS Hue City received the EGC and, when within approximately 1 mile of the last known position of the distress, reported seeing orange flares, flashing lights and located a raft with three fishermen aboard surrounded by debris.

The crew of the Hue City safely rescued all three fishermen from the raft and transported them via an SH-60 Sea Hawk helicopter to Naval Station Mayport where they will be transferred to emergency medical services.

“This case highlights the close cooperation between the Coast Guard and the Navy as well as the importance of having the right safety equipment onboard,” said Lt Cmdr. Ryan Kelley, the Coast Guard’s District Seven Public Affairs Officer. “The Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacon, flares and flashing light, without question, helped lead rescue crews directly to their location to get them home safely.

The USS Hue City (CG-66) is the twentieth in the Ticonderoga class of Aegis guided missile cruisers serving in the United States Navy and conducted her maiden voyage in March of 1993.

The Seventh Coast Guard District is one of nine Coast Guard district offices nationwide and is based in Miami, Fla. The Seventh District has responsibility for all Coast Guard operations in South Carolina, Georgia, the Florida Peninsula, Puerto Rico, the U.S Virgin Islands and the entire Caribbean Basin.

If you have any problems viewing this article, please report it here.