Coast Guard presents the 2014 William M. Benkert Awards at API annual tanker conference

Coast Guard Headquarters News
WASHINGTON — Vice Commandant of the U.S. Coast Guard Vice Adm. Peter Neffenger presented the 2014 Rear Adm. William Benkert Awards at the American Petroleum Institute’s annual tanker conference Thursday. The award is given to support and recognize maritime industry efforts for their environmental protection programs.

This biennial award was started in 1995 and honors industry leaders in the field of marine safety and environmental protection and provides an opportunity for the Coast Guard to recognize leadership, innovation and creativity found among those members of the maritime industry. It is the premier environmental protection award presented by the U.S. Coast Guard to members of the marine industry and was designed to distinguish outstanding achievements extending beyond compliance with industry and regulatory standards.

Award recipients are:

Osprey: Polar Tankers
Silver: AEP River Operations; Kirby Inland Marine; Marathon Petroleum Company; and Norwegian Cruise Lines
Bronze: Alaska Clean Seas
Honorable Mention: SGS Petroleum Service Corporation and Maersk Line, Limited

If you have any problems viewing this article, please report it here.

Related Posts

Comments are closed.