Coast Guard Announces Selectees For DHS Awards

ALAMEDA, Calf. РSeveral Coast Guardsmen  will be recognized today at the Third Annual Department of Homeland Security Awards Ceremony, scheduled to begin at 1 p.m. at the Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium, 1301 Constitution Ave., N.W., Washington, D.C.

A Team DHS Excellence Award will be given to the men and women responsible for the largest single cocaine seizure at sea when the Coast Guard cutter Sherman intercepted the motor vessel Gatun while on patrol in the Eastern Pacific in April. The Panamanian-flagged cargo vessel was transporting nearly 20 tons of cocaine, valued at more than $500 million. Sherman is a 378-foot high endurance cutter based here.

Here is the full list of Coast Guard employees selected to receive awards today:

1. Secretary’s Meritorious Service Award: Jammie Fisher, Coast Guard Sector Corpus Christi, Texas.

2. Secretary’s Award for Exemplary Service: Larry D. Griffin, Coast Guard Sector/Air Station Corpus Christi, Texas.

3. Secretary’s Award for Excellence: Gregg Johnson, Sector Charleston Prevention Department, Charleston, S.C.

4. Secretary”s Award for Excellence: Claudio Polselli, Civil Engineer Unit Providence, Warwick, R.I.

5. Team DHS Excellence Award: Patrol Forces South West Asia Middle East Training Team, USCG PATFORSWA Unit 3950, Kingdom of Bahrain.

6. Team DHS Excellence Award: M/V Gatun Cocaine Seizure Team.

7. Outstanding Achievement in Diversity Management Award: Capt. Susan D. Bibeau, Coast Guard Academy, New London, Conn.

8. Volunteer Service Award: Lt. Patrick K. Burkett, Sector New Orleans, New Orleans, La.

9. Volunteer Service Award: George Cane, Integrated Support Command, Boston, Mass.

10. Secretary’s Award for Valor: Petty Officer 3rd Class Robert D. Emley, Air Station Astoria, Warrenton, Ore.

11. Secretary’s Award for Valor: Petty Officer 2nd Class Steven M. Ruh, Station Oswego, N.Y.

12. Secretary’s Award for Valor: Petty Officer 1st Class Michael P. Damren, Sector Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

13. Secretary’s Award for Valor: Petty Officer 1st Class John N. Peters, Sector Sault Ste. Marie, Mich.

14. Secretary’s Award for Valor: Master Chief Petty Officer Michael P. Leavitt, Group Humbolt Bay, Ore.

15. Secretary’s Award for Valor: Petty Officer 2nd Class John E. Duncan, Group Humbolt Bay, Ore.

If you have any problems viewing this article, please report it here.