Cleveland-based member will receive the Coast Guardsman of the Year Award

CLEVELAND – A Cleveland-based Coast Guard petty officer will receive the Coast Guardsman of the Year Award from the U.S. Navy League during a ceremony at Station Cleveland Harbor, Wednesday, at 8 a.m.

Petty Officer 2nd Class Clayton W. Franklin, who is assigned to Station Cleveland Harbor, will receive the award for exceptional service while in uniform.

The U.S. Navy League annually recognizes multiple people with this high honor to show its appreciation for hard work, dedication and adherence to the Coast Guard’s core values of honor, respect, and devotion to duty.

“He wears the core values more transparently than anyone else I know,” said Chief Scott Owens, the Officer-in-Charge of Station Cleveland Harbor.

Franklin has been assigned to Cleveland Harbor for more than four years and will to transfer to the Coast Guard Cutter Obion WLR-65503, homeported in Owensboro, Ky., this summer.

If you have any problems viewing this article, please report it here.