Memorial to be dedicated at Air Station Barbers Point on anniversary of fatal helicopter crash

HONOLULU — The U.S. Coast Guard is scheduled to dedicate a memorial at Air Station Barbers Point Friday at 9:30 a.m., honoring the crews of two fatal crashes, that of the ‘CG1420’ in 1982 and of the ‘CG6505’ in 2008.

The memorial will be unveiled on the first anniversary of the loss of ‘CG6505.’

The Coast Guard’s Vice Commandant, Vice Adm. David P. Pekoske, will preside over the ceremony. Guests invited include Vice Adm. Jody A. Breckenridge, the commander of Coast Guard Pacific Area, and Rear Adm. Manson K. Brown, the commander of the 14th Coast Guard District, headquartered in Honolulu.

Coast Guardsmen stationed throughout the country have been invited to attend as well as service members from other military branches, government and industry partners, and community members.

The memorial service is not open to the general public.

‘CG6505’ crashed on Sept. 4, 2008, while conducting a training mission south of Honolulu International Airport. That night, Cmdr. Thomas Nelson, Lt. Cmdr. Andrew Wischmeier, Petty Officer 1stClass David Skimin, and Petty Officer 2nd Class Joshua Nichols lost their lives.

‘CG 1420,’ an HH-52 helicopter, crashed Jan. 7, 1982, while en route to a search and rescue mission north of Molokai. On that night, Lt. Cmdr. Horton Johnson, Lt. Colleen Cain, and Petty Officer 2nd Class David Thompson lost their lives.

The Air Station Barbers Point aircrew memorial will serve to commemorate these crews with honor and remembrance.

Editors Note:  I recommend that a moment of silence be observed at 9:30 Hawaii time for these aircrew members. Here is a list of local times that the observation should be made.

Hawaii 9:30 AM HAST
Anchorage 11:30 AM AKDT
Seattle 12:30 PM PDT
Denver 1:30 PM MDT
Houston 2:30 PM CDT
Washington, DC 3:30 PM EDT

Related Posts

2 Comments

  1. Leo harding says:

    with honor they served, May they live with The Almighty forever
    Leo
    South Africa

  2. DCC says:

    I just watched the video and have to say it was awesome! Great concept! Great jobs guys. I personnaly did not know anyone involved, other than they were my ‘brothers in blue”, but I still get this sunken feeling in my heart when I read or hear about the incident. To the crew of the 6505, “You will be missed”. God bless.